So Ms “Family Travel Blogger”, where are you going next?

Yeah, about that,

Well, we’re taking the kids to their grandparents

And leaving them there

While we go somewhere really awesome

Without them

Yes, I’ll confess. Remember all that stuff I’ve posted about showing my kids the world and broadening their perspective? Well, we have managed to do a lot of that since the kids came along, but sometimes you get an opportunity too good to pass up. Like a set of grandparents willing to take the kids for two weeks this summer while we indulge in our own little travel fantasy.

As long as I can remember, I’ve dreamed of going on an African safari. I loved animals and zoos growing up, and I loved reading books like “Born Free” and “My Life with the Chimpanzees.”  I fantasized about hearing the lions roar at dusk or seeing the sun rise in the morning over the African plains. And yet I never managed to get there. I’m sure I could have, but for some reason another option or destination always got in the way. I did manage to get to the continent itself including a trip to Egypt and a chance to visit a  friend who worked in West Africa, but the safari just never seemed to come together. Until now. I can hardly believe that in only a few short weeks we’ll be landing in Johannesburg and heading from there to a safari lodge to begin our ten days in Africa. We will start in Chobe National Park, then Victoria Falls and finally the Sabi Sands Reserve on the edge of Kruger. And we’ll be doing it all without the kids. Which is exciting and scary all at the same time.

One thing that I do know for sure is that we could never imagine doing this without having awesome and amazing grandparents who love our kids unconditionally and will take excellent care of them. This trip is also an adventure for them, and we’ve spent time talking about and planning all the fun things they will do with their grandparents in the 13 days we’ll be away. The travel we have done with them up until now has helped them see new situations as an adventure to be embraced, not a scary change to be avoided. I do feel some regret about the fact that we will be seeing all kind of amazing new things and I’ll be spending a lot of my time wishing I could share it with the kids. I think my son is still pretty oblivious about it all, but my daughter was recently asking all kinds of questions about Africa and asking why she couldn’t go. I told her that you had to take really, really long plane rides and she said she liked plane rides. Then I told her that she’d have to get shots. She immediately said she was happy going to the grandparents. Come to think of it, that might be a good indicator of when the kids are ready to go on an African adventure of their own some day. When they want to go enough to be willing to get the shots, we’ll know they’re ready.

Until then, we’ll just have to take a lot of pictures. Hopefully some will be good enough to share here in a few weeks time. Until then, I’ll leave you with some that others have taken.

Leave a Reply

